top of page

 The Band 

IMG_0116.JPG

In the sound worlds of progressive jazz, there has recently been a new sensation:

The five-piece orchestra 5 X 5 is setting new standards in the jazz scene with captivating energy and extraordinary skill.

The virtuoso musicians Cozy Friedel on violin and polyphonic simultaneous vocals and Anna Keller on saxophone, flute and clarinet team up with bass, keyboard and drums to create hypnotic soundscapes that captivate audiences.

The quintet, awarded first prize in the German Women in Jazz competition, has already completed two successful concert tours of Austria and Germany since its formation in 2021.

In the process, they made guest appearances at renowned festivals such as the "47th Jazztage Ilmenau", the "Jazzwerkstatt Graz", the "Musikwerkstatt Wels" and the "Focus Female Festival" at the Blue Note Dresden.

In November 2023, the band released their debut album “Extrahügel” with the renowned label Alessa Records, which was recorded in Vienna and was presented as part of an international release tour

The Line-Up:

 

Cozy Friedel - Violin, Vocals

Anna Keller - Saxophone, Clarinet, Flute

Maximilian Gerstbach – Piano, Keys

Vuk Vasilic - Bass

Markus Gruber - Drums

The story of 5 X 5:

 

The beginnings of the band can be found in the summer of 2021 as part of the first Peter Erskine workshop at the "Jam Music Lab University", through which the two band leaders Anna and Cozy got to know each other.

Very quickly both came to the decision to realize their love for music together in their own band project. Shortly after, a first concert in Anna's home town Rosenheim followed in a spontaneous line-up, which soon after formed as "Fünfmalfünf" and has lasted ever since. This was followed by a mini-tour (DE/AT) in spring 2022 and a two-week tour (DE/AT) in winter 2022 as well as a first album production, which will be released on November 16th 2023. 

bottom of page

top of page

 Die Band 

IMG_0116.JPG

Das fünfköpfige Orchester 5 X 5 setzt mit fesselnder Energie und außergewöhnlichem Können neue Maßstäbe in der Jazz-Szene.

 

Die virtuosen Musikerinnen Cozy Friedel an der Geige und dem mehrstimmigen simultanen Gesang sowie Anna Keller am Saxophon, Flöte und Klarinette erschaffen gemeinsam mit Bass, Keyboard und Schlagzeug hypnotische Klanglandschaften, die das Publikum in den Bann ziehen.

 

Die mit dem ersten Preis des deutschen Women in Jazz Wettbewerbs 2023 ausgezeichnete Band konnte seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 2021 bereits sechs erfolgreiche Konzerttourneen durch Österreich und Deutschland verbuchen.

 

Dabei gastierten sie bei namhaften Festivals wie dem „Women in Jazz Festival“, den „47. Jazztagen Ilmenau“, der „Jazzwerkstatt Graz“, der „Musikwerkstatt Wels“ und dem „Focus Female Festival“ im Blue Note Dresden.

 

Im November 2023 veröffentlichte die Band beim renommierten Label Alessa Records ihr Debütalbum „Extrahügel“, welches sie in Wien aufgenommen und im Rahmen einer internationalen Release Tour präsentiert wurde.

Das Line-Up:

Cozy Friedel - Violine, Gesang

Anna Keller - Saxophon, Klarinette, Flöte

Maximilian Gerstbach - Piano, Keys

Nina Feldgrill - Bass

Markus Gruber - Drums

Die Geschichte von 5 X 5:

Die Anfänge der Band finden sich im Sommer 2021 im Rahmen des ersten Peter Erskine Workshops an der “Jam Music Lab University”, durch den sich die beiden Bandleaderinnen Anna und Cozy kennengelernt haben.

Sehr schnell kamen beide zum Entschluss, ihre Liebe zur Musik in einem eigenen Bandprojekt gemeinsam zu verwirklichen.

Zeitnah folgte ein erstes Konzert in Annas Heimat Rosenheim in spontaner Besetzung, die sich kurz darauf als 5 X 5 formiert hat und seither Bestand hat.

Darauf folgten seit Frühjahr 2022 zahlreiche Auftritte im Rahmen selbst organisierter Touren.

bottom of page